The California Librarians Black Caucus is a statewide organization with branches in northern and southern California. This organization was established in 1972 to eradicate inequities facing African Americans in the library workplace; to function in the state of California as an ombudsman for African American communities regarding the provision of library and information services; to promote and promulgate literature and information by and about African Americans; to evaluate and contact publishers regarding the quality of published materials by and about African Americans; and to challenge libraries statewide to provide maximum access to such materials
The California Librarians Black Caucus is an independent organization, not affiliated directly with the American Library Association, the Black Caucus of the American Library Association, or the California Library Association. While our members may be affiliated with other professional organizations, our focus is expanding local interests in our profession and expanding opportunities to enhance our professional image

 Elected Officers for CLBC Southern Area (July 2013 – December 2014)

President: Jené Brown, LAPL
Vice President: Karin Griffin, Cal State Long Beach
Recording Secretary: Denise McIver, CAAM
Corresponding Secretary: Pat Toney, SFPL
Parliamentarian: Betty Blackman, Retiree
Treasurer: Sonja Hannah, LAPL

 Elected Officers for CLBC Southern Area (January 2012 – July 2013)

President: Joseph Atkinson, LAPL
Vice President: VACANT
Recording Secretary: Sharon Johnson, Compton Public Library
Corresponding Secretary: Billie Frierson, Retiree
Treasurer: Sonja Hannah, LAPL
Parliamentarian: Betty Blackman, Retiree